Terror in “Love”

 

I lay with my eyes wide open, taking in the endless darkness that surrounded me.

Breaking the silence came sounds of a chair being dragged and the closing of the bed room door from right behind me. Heavy steps could be heard approaching me.

Terror is what I sensed.

This is what I felt this day too.

I could sense the harsh thump as he sat on the bed and the sheet receding from under as he crept on the bed aiming at me. Harder his breath struck me; I realised him getting closer and found it hard to breathe.Terror stricken, I closed my eyes tight enough to live in a world within one. The pace of darkness that was entering my soul increased with the pace of each of his movements.How he knew the me deep in myself was awake; remains a mystery.

He didn’t demand anything while he did the harvesting of love. But terror is what I always feel while he approached me. May be the terror of me weakening before him or terror of him dominating me or may be terror of his “love”.

Whatever it was he never knew or he never pretended to know of “me”, my insecurities and I , I was in his hold, reluctantly, trying my best to breathe in the air of freedom, dreams and desire

but No,

not of that terror.

Leave a comment