Little Black Bird

Sometimes I wish I be a little black bird

image

Sometimes I wish I be a little black bird
To cry aloud, to fly high
To sit in the small branch of a tree
To drink the honey of flowers
To cry and cry until I get a mate
To be aware of nothing

But dear little black bird
Are you not aware of anything
Are you not aware of the burning sun
Are you not aware of big eagles
Not aware of the storm and cyclones

Wouldn’t other birds mock at you of your color
Wouldn’t your mates betray you
Wouldn’t someday a hunter shoot you down

Then I don’t want to be like you
Because sometimes I feel
You are myself.

 

6 thoughts on “Little Black Bird”

Leave a Reply

